Live blog – Liquid Metal 12/12/09 7-8pm

8:05     Cannibal Corpse! Nice!!! Ok, now I’m off for real. See ya, suckers!

8:02     Thanks to Ian for going along with this, and keep up the good work!

8:01     Ok, time to sign off. I leave as Daath begins to play. It’s a nice band, but I don’t see what they bring to the table. They’re ok.

7:57     Can’t wait for Machine Head’s next album!

7:53     Machine Head covering Iron Maiden. It’s a very nice take on a classic song. Robb Flynn doesn’t have the voice of Bruce Dickinson, but that’s ok. He’s a great guitarist, and Bruce Dickinson is only second to Dio.

7:51     3 good songs in a row, we’re on a roll!!!

7:50     White Zombie… So many acid trips, so few songs…

7:50     Skeletonwitch’s riffing: incisive.

7:48     Skeletonwitch is awesome. Blabbermouth criticized the vocal, but I really like it.

7:47     Thanks for the plug Ian!

7:46     Sort of…

7:45     That song is from when Tom Araya could still sing. 🙂

7:44     It’s nice to have a deeper cut from Slayer. This is actually their best song from Diabolus in Musica. Someone at Liquid Metal knows their Slayer.

7:42     MOTHER FUCKING SLAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEER

7:40     Trap Them: don’t know these guys. Sounds harcore. Good filler, but I’m waiting for the next song. It’s just not metal enough for me, but if you’re into it, more power to you.

7:38     Please make it stop.

7:35     Metalcore is so passé. These guys should imitate the lemmings.

7:33     You can hear the talent, but there’s no hook for me. Just another band who clumsily integrates different influences. Jose, easy on the Ankla… 🙂

7:31     Ah, Ankla.

7:29     The new Fear Factory is just mehh. It’s 100% Fear Factory, minus the innovative factor they had when Demanufacture got big, way back in 1995. It may just be that specific song; I’ll definitely give the album a serious listen when it comes out in early 2010.

7:26     You did a great job, Ian. Thanks for dedicating this Bloody Roots to Dio!

7:24     I saw Lamb of God for the 3rd time a few weeks ago as part of the Metallica tour. They did a great show. I was never a big fan of Randy Blythe’s voice, but after I watched Killadelphia and Walk with Me in Hell, I got a much greater appreciation for the band, including Randy. I love the texture of the guitars, and the drumming is the definition of metal. 

7:21     Budweiser: the poor man’s best friend.

7:17     Ouch, Katatonia. Not my favorite band, but at least it’s not fucking IWABO or Horse the Band. At least Katatonia has something to bring to the table. Mood, melody. Actually I would not mind Liquid Metal having an hour of that stuff on a Sunday night.    

7:06     Heaven and Hell: excellent pick to conclude this special edition of Bloody Roots!

7:04     What, Ian has been touched internally by Dio?

7:02     Here we go folks, Bloody Roots is ending with a well deserved thanks to Dio for all he has done for the metal community.

One Response to “Live blog – Liquid Metal 12/12/09 7-8pm”

  1. Well I agree with most of what you say except for a BIG BIG mistake: Bruce Dickinson is OBVIOUSLY the first voice of metal, not the second! My best wishes to Dio though!

Leave a comment